The Campbell Castle was built from 1886 to 1888 by Colonel Burton Harvey Campbell and his wife Ellen and is reportedly an authentic reproduction of a Richardsonian Romanesque Scottish Castle. The Castle and adjacent Carriage House boast approximately 15,000 square feet of living space and approximately two acres of landscaped grounds and is beautifully nestled on the banks of the Little Arkansas River adjacent to the nearby city parks. This property is listed on the Local, State, and National Registers of Historical Places. The Castle boasts numerous structural antiques which were originally imported from Europe by Colonel Campbell, including fireplaces, hand carved fretwork, German stained glass, and the 300 year old Grand Staircase and arched dining room window which were imported from London. The carriage house houses 3 of the 17 guest rooms, an office, and a 1300 square foot second floor owners' apartment complete with cedar beamed vaulted ceilings and original native limestone walls.
Both buildings present a total of 17 bedrooms, all with private bathrooms, and 12 of the 14 bedrooms have fireplaces. The castle kitchen features a 12 burner Wolf commercial stove with 2 convection ovens, commercial dishwasher and stainless-steel countertops. The formal dining room, solarium, and coffee bar offer a variety of seating options for dining and relaxation pleasure. A carpeted 1000 square foot meeting space area occupies approximately half of the lower level of the castle and includes a wet bar, refrigerator, and an adjacent half bath. The original antique limestone walls add an old-world ambiance to the space. There are three balconies on the second floor of the Castle.